The second-oldest town in South Carolina, Beaufort (pop. 12,361; pronounced “BYOO-furd”) is a well-preserved antebellum town stretching along a fine natural harbor. Established in 1710, Beaufort stands on the largest of some 75 islands near the Georgia border; the town is perhaps best known as the gateway to the massive U.S. Marine Corps Recruit Depot at nearby Parris Island, where new Marines undergo their basic training. Dozens of colonial-era and antebellum homes line Beaufort’s quiet Bay Street waterfront, but only one, the Verdier House, is open to visitors. Perhaps the most significant home, once owned by slave-turned-Civil War naval hero and Reconstruction-era U. S. Congressman Robert Smalls, stands flanked by palmetto trees at 511 Prince Street; Smalls lived here as a slave, then later bought the house from his former owner. A memorial statue stands just north of downtown in the cemetery of Tabernacle Baptist Church (907 Craven St.), where Smalls is buried.
Beaufort is an enjoyable place to wander around and explore, and it has at least one great place to eat: Blackstone’s Café (205 Scott St., 843/524-4330), where fans of the shrimp and grits and corned beef hash include local writer Pat Conroy. Places to stay include the waterfront Best Western Sea Island Inn (1015 Bay St., 843/522-2090) and one of the state’s only recently awarded four-star B&Bs, the lovely Rhett House Inn (1009 Craven St., 843/524-9030, $179 and up), where the film The Prince of Tides was shot on location.